Like many states, Louisiana has a graduated license program designed to reduce accidents among new teen drivers. This three-stage process helps them become safe, responsible drivers.
If you have a teen who wants to drive, help them follow the appropriate licensing laws.
In Louisiana, teens who are at least 15 years old can get a learner’s permit after eight hours of hands-on driving instruction and 30 hours of classroom driver’s education. You and your child must visit your local Office of Motor Vehicles with a birth certificate, passport, school records, Social Security card and/or other forms of primary and secondary identification. At this appointment, your teen will receive a permit once he or she passes the vision and written tests.
With a learner’s permit, teens can drive with a licensed sibling who is at least 18 or any licensed driver who is at least 21. They must complete 50 hours of driving practice with a parent or guardian, including 15 hours after dark.
At age 16, teens can apply for an intermediate Louisiana license once they have completed the required driving practice and held a permit for at least 180 days. You and your child must visit the OMV with a notarized statement attesting to completion of the driving practice time, so keep track of all the hours spent accompanying your teen behind the wheel. You must also bring the insurance card for the car your teen will use to take the road test, which the state requires for the intermediate license.
Teens who pass the test can drive alone, but must have an older sibling or parent present when driving between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. After 6 p.m., the driver can have no more than one passenger younger than 21 who is not a family member, unless an adult is also present.
Once your teen turns 17, he or she can get a full driver’s license. If he or she did not participate in the graduated licensing program, Louisiana requires either a six-hour pre-licensing course or a full course of driver’s education. However, the more practice your teen has before getting a license, the less likely it is that he or she will have a serious auto accident.