Get Your Questions Answered

I RECEIVED A DENIAL LETTER FROM MY SOCIAL SECURITY APPLICATION. WHAT DO I DO NOW?

It is important to know you only have 60 days from receipt of your denial letter to file an appeal. Once you receive your denial, we ask our clients to inform us immediately so that our lawyers can request an appeal immediately.

WHAT GOES ON AT A SOCIAL SECURITY HEARING?

A social security hearing is conducted by an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ). At the hearing, the judge, as well as your representative, will be able to ask you questions regarding your case. During the hearing there can also be testimony received from medical and/or vocational experts if needed. Your representative will be able to ask specific questions to the medical and/or vocational experts to help prove your case.

ONCE THE HEARING IS CONCLUDED, WHEN WILL I RECEIVE A DECISION?

Usually the ALJ will not make a decision on the day of your hearing. You can expect a decision in the mail between two (2) to three (3) months from the day of your hearing.

WHAT IS UNINSURED/UNDERINSURED MOTORIST INSURANCE COVERAGE AND WHY SHOULD I CARRY IT?

Uninsured/Underinsured motorist insurance coverage is coverage you can purchase to protect you if you or members of your household are injured in an accident by a negligent driver with no insurance coverage or limited insurance coverage that would not cover your injuries. The majority of people carry a $15,000.00 liability limit which in a serious accident, would not even cover your medical bills.

IF I FILE UNDER MY UNINSURED/UNDERINSURED MOTORIST INSURANCE COVERAGE, WILL IT EFFECT MY PREMIUMS?

No.

EVEN THOUGH I AM HURTING, CAN I JUST HANDLE MY INJURIES ON MY OWN WITH OTC MEDICATION?

No. Your injury may be worse than you realize. If you don't document your pain, it is difficult to make a recovery for it.

IF INJURED ON A VESSEL SUCH AS A TUGBOAT, BARGE OR JACKUP RIG, DO I HAVE TO REPORT MY ACCIDENT? I'M AFRAID IF I DO, I WILL LOSE MY JOB.

No. You must document the accident and demand an accident report be filled out. If you don't document your accident, it is difficult to make a recovery. Remember, your injury may be worse than you realize.

HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE TO GET MONEY FROM A DOCTOR OR HOSPITAL THAT YOU CHOOSE TO SUE FOR MALPRACTICE?

Before someone can sue a hospital or doctor or other healthcare provider, Louisiana law says that the injured person has to go before a Panel of three doctors who will state in an opinion whether they think the healthcare provider did something wrong. Then, an injured person can file suit. Consequently, the medical malpractice claim normally takes longer to resolve than any other type of injury claim.

HOW MUCH MONEY CAN I RECOVER FROM AN INJURY THAT A HOSPITAL, DOCTOR OR OTHER HEALTH CARE PROVIDER CAUSE?

The most you can recover in Louisiana is $500,000.00, and payment for your medical expenses. If future medical is needed, the Patient Compensation Fund or the State may elect to pay the future medical bills as they are incurred rather than pay them in a lump sum.

We Offer Free Initial Consultations

Contact the attorneys at The Townsley Law Firm for answers to other questions you may have. You can reach us via email or call our Lake Charles office at 337-377-0584 or 800-216-6808. We look forward to helping you.